#Gratitude 🙌

What I am thankful for this week:

My friend X was magnetically pulled in by a painting on a wooden wagon holding prints of artwork on the Venice boardwalk…Ginesh or Ginesha was the Hindu god painted by a man named Eddie who had fingernails dirtier than a back alley. He told me about the tears and emotion that were poured into this painting as he worked for 7 months every night painting, spraying, doodling and crafting this piece of work. X bought me the painting, handed Eddie 10 dollars more than the asking price and Eddie signed the print with a toxic blue sharpie. I thanked him for sharing the sentiment behind his work and he hugged me, I couldn’t help but think about how dirty he was, an unbathed man with a highly awakened soul. Eddie is a contradiction but only because of my correlation between cleanliness and godliness, I now think of his humble being as clean in all the right ways.

2015-05-25 20.32.18-2

My stomach kicked with nerves as my younger brother Jack walked across the stage to receive his high school diploma. I felt like a part of me was walking across that stage with him because a part of my identity lies with Jack…thick bloodlines and a sense of humor bonds us. I was proud of this young man adorned in a purple gown and a floral lei he still is as masculine as his father and as stoic as his grandfather. Surrounded by a family of women he is easily the quiet one (which is not saying much).  Hugs, kisses, jumps, laughter, fears and pride joined us in a celebration for the graduate, although he was an hour late and we started partying before he got there, we were there for him. Mimosas, deviled eggs and family friends shared stories, old photos and new anecdotes with each other. Step siblings, ex-wives and girlfriends joined the conversations and goofy photos were taken to honor a day that signifies a moment in time that is necessary to document your story. Education is a necessity and a luxury…I was reminded how important sharing ideas is, wether its with a graduating class of high school students or my Iranian uncle Ebrahim. Communication is our link to understanding.

2015-05-23 11.04.00-1

My dad told me about his legacy he wanted to pass on to us, the importance of leaving us with something he created and would stay in the family, in his case it was architecture. I sat by his feet on the floor and he looked in my eyes with pained tears… His dreams to share his wealth with us was not fulfilled in the way he thought due to a traumatic divide in our immediate family. If only he knew what bountiful wealth he has given us that will never be held down with a dollar sign or forgotten as decades pass. He has given me optimism, gratitude and kindness, he reminds me to be be real and no matter who looks at you funny and how crazy you look, just do you.   He taught me that energy is what you give off not what what you take away. Act on emotion, tell the truth and give up your seat to a stranger.

2015-05-21 16.41.56

Walking down from a hike up to Sanitas, the rain started to fall as the sun set behind the proud Flatirons. I started to run, which turned into a sprint which carried me all the way home. Perspiration and precipitation coated me in memories from my hometown and childhood days and I kept saying, “look how far you’ve come, keep going, keep moving forward.” Running is so bittersweet for me, I have to kick so many negative voices to the sidelines in order to persist and by the end I am in pain but oh so relieved, refreshed and proud of my body.

2015-05-23 19.07.33

These are the moments that remind me I am  A L I  V E.

Gratitude is all we have, so wakeup and say thank you 🙂

🙌

What are you grateful for today? Yesterday? In this moment? Write it down and don’t forget it.

Discovered this beautiful Ted Talk today…Enjoy

One thought on “#Gratitude 🙌

  1. Gratitude for my daughter who writes from the deep, who is an extraordinarily thoughtful being, and who brings the gifts of light and laughter to me whenever i am with her. You are too far away, my Liv”!

    Like

Leave a Reply

